The teachers I have had in medical school

Often wondered about this Ideal teacher!!!

The best teachers I have had in medical school…

…let me see patients on my own
…actually listened to me present details and ideas
…paged me when there were interesting procedures to watch
…told me about their paths to where they are now
…attended lecture that was meant for residents
…let me try things I’d never done before, and guided me through them
…broke it down to the basics
…told me how I was doing, gave me advice and pointers
…treated me like a resident
…asked how they could help me attain my goals

The worst teachers I have had in medical school…

…didn’t make eye contact with me
…left immediately after rounds
…didn’t give me any responsibility in patient care
…made it seem like a big deal for me to see a patient on my own
…slapped my hands out of the operating field
…bragged openly about their own career accomplishments
…never offered feedback
…insulted other medical fields
…never quizzed me

Who is yours?

About Haroon Rashid

I am a student of Interventional Cardiology
This entry was posted in General Surviving Tips and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

