DEFINITION: Hemostasis is defined as arrest or stoppage of bleeding

STAGES OF HEMOSTASIS: When a blood vessel is injured, the injury initiates a series of reactions resulting in hemostasis. It occurs in three stages:

1. Vasoconstriction

2. Platelet plug formation

3. Coagulation of blood

All these stages are described in the following video :


About mdmedicine

Medical student. Interested in learning and promoting medical field.
This entry was posted in Physiology and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s